The Kidnapper’s Blue Van

Joy Ellen Sauter
9 min readAug 11, 2020

And The Girl Who Wrestled Fire

Photo by Zahra Amiri on Unsplash

My mother was always telling me to use softer words. Words that do not hurt her ears. I used sharp words that made adults adjust themselves in their seats, look down at their hands, and question my moral compass. They’d ask my father, “How could such a small person say such adult words?” Big words are not just for big people.

If you don’t say the words on your tongue they grow into a secret in your brain. Grown ups have secrets, all huddled together smoking cigarettes ushering me out of the room whispering where they think I can’t hear. Now, like adults, I’ve got secrets of my own desperate for air.

Scott Huff hated me. That was OK, because I hated him. There were 19 second graders in my class, but only five girls. Five. I counted on the first day because that number seemed quite unfair.

I was told boys and girls were equal in the world, but my second grade class had a lot more penis’s than vaginas. Penises were ugly, squishy sticks like things that hung off the body and felt like dried Play-doh. I needed less of those in my life.

Fourteen annoying, obnoxious boys, with their Hulk Hogan and Luke Skywalker action figure dolls perched upon their stupid desks like trophies.

--

--